Food: G’s Dubai – one of the best bakeries in town

G’s is located in Cluster F, JLT and I was there recently for a fantastic tasting session. G’s is a homegrown cafe and bakery which also produces some beautiful customized cakes, a few caught my eye: the minion cake was neatly executed, and I loved the elegant look of the yellow and lilac ruffle cake. The tiered cakes that were in their display cases looked stunning as well (pictures above).

Since this post has already started off with dessert and there’s a lot more of it to come we’ll switch over to their appetizing food. Since the Dubai heat is almost back 😦 we started of will some drinks to cool us off. I opted for an iced coffee caramel which was scrumptious, while my mom had a refreshing orange carrot juice. IMG-20150418-03145 We got the arugula, tomato & goat’s cheese focaccia, and the chicken feta pesto panini. Both these sandwiches had the most flavorsome, crunchy olive focaccia, LOVED this. The arugula sandwich was one of the freshest ones I’ve had, would definitely go back for this. My chicken pesto panini was also brilliant since the chicken was grilled to perfection and the nutty pesto merged everything together to create an explosion of flavors.

G’s does food as well as it does desserts which is up next #nomnomnom.

I’ll break down this huge array of desserts but they were all delicious. Beware mouthwatering dessert pictures below. IMG-20150418-03156

We’ll start off with the vanilla custard dossant. My mom loved this one, I barely got 2 bites – she polished it off easily. The custard is creamy and clashes against the crunchy dossant base! IMG-20150418-03154

Moving onto the mini cupcakes we tried 5: kitkat, red velvet, peanut butter, lemon curd and mars. They have one of the best kitkat cupcakes I’ve had since there is enough chocolate. Both the red velvet and peanut butter taste as described and have super soft sponges. The lemon curd is a great palate cleanser from the sugar overload. The mars was my mom’s favorite caramel and mars in a cupcake= yum. IMG-20150418-03153

The chocolate swirl cake looks appetizing and even though it’s dark chocolate the sweetness is balanced and it’s not bitter (like everything I taste with dark chocolate 😦 ). G’s swirl cake for the win #ftw. IMG-20150418-03152

Coming to our second dossant which is chocolate (did you see it, it has sprinkles on it) :O. Looks super cute and more like a doughnut but the cream inside is also rich. If you don’t like vanilla the chocolate dossant is made for you! IMG-20150418-03151

Our last dessert which is an innocent looking carrot cake but really it’s the real threat. Normally I would be like “carrot cake pftttt” but I have to admit I think this might be my favorite dessert (it was a really hard pick). The cream cheese and moist sponge filled with nuts and a hint of spice is addictive.

My mom also picked up 2 loaves of wholemeal bread which were gobbled up in 2 days, they were that good and just for 5 AED each, I wish I lived in JLT would pick up a loaf each day.

Can’t wait to get a customized cake done from G’s in a few months will update on that later, You can check out a bunch of their designs and their menu on their website www.gforme.ae.

Click to add a blog post for G's Bakery & Cafe on Zomato

4 thoughts on “Food: G’s Dubai – one of the best bakeries in town

  1. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a lot of
    the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome site!

    Like

Leave a Reply

