Food: Zen

Recently I decided to try out Zen which is located in Business Bay, it may be small but it serves some psychotically good grub. We were greeted by the owner who was bearing glasses of mint lemonade which were super refreshing. We later tried the thai iced tea with milk and I was in love, gulped it down almost instantly, I just couldn’t stop, I’m still dreaming about that iced tea.

For starters we tried the tod man veg: corn cakes which were great, slightly sweet. Then the lettuce wraps arrived, a table favorite, piping hot filling and crispy noodles wrapped in fresh lettuce leaves and drizzled in sauce make for one amazing combination. I wanted to try the gai yang: bbq boneless chicken and the som tam: raw papaya salad and was told both those dishes go well together but that jasmine sticky rice would heighten the flavor. The spicyness of the papaya salad and juicy yet crispy chicken tied together with the rice make for a medley of great flavors. Picture below both items are in the bottom left corner.

One of the other starters we tried were the spring rolls, they aren’t your run of the mill spring rolls, you can taste every ingredient especially the super fresh corn. Another table favorite was the salt and pepper vegetables, super crispy yet not dense, definitely recommended!

For mains we tried the crispy shredded beef which was another table favorite and you know it’s good if my vegetarian mother was tempted to try it, she loved it.
Zen special fried rice (without beef) went great with the beef, the prawns were brilliant.
My sister and I were really looking forward to the peking duck, having never had it I would compare it more to beef than to chicken, but still delicious came with the softest pancakes, spring onions and cucumber. 2 people could easily share it.
Saving the best for last phad see yu: thai style thick noodles, another table favorite and the star of the night, everything was uber fresh and the flavors just popped jumping your taste buds into overdrive. Side note the noodles are flown in bi weekly straight from Thailand #supercool.

I didn’t have the space for enticing desserts but will try them next time, though I do recommend the thai iced tea, was the perfect end for the meal!

Click to add a blog post for Zen Restaurant on Zomato

2 thoughts on “Food: Zen

    1. We never used to visit Business Bay before (my dad’s new office is located there) even now we get lost but Zen is worth the visit (I had my dad drive me there) My mom loves their som tam so much she even tells my dad to pick up some 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

